Andreas Bäckman inherits win as Briché is penalised

Andreas Bäckman inherits win as Briché is penalised

Andreas Bäckman was promoted to winner of TCR Europe Race 1 in Barcelona as Julien Briché was given a five second penalty and dropped to second.
The TCR Europe Stewards investigated a number of incidents that occurred before and during the race. Several of these investigations resulted in no further action being taken, but three drivers were given penalties.
The driver who crossed the finish line in first place, Briché, was given a five-second penalty for not being in the correct grid position prior to the start, which meant he dropped to second behind Bäckman.
Similarly, Santiago Urrutia who was classified third, received a five-second penalty for the same infringement, but the penalty had no effect on the result and so he kept third place.
Finally, Alex Morgan received a thirty-second penalty after he was judged to have overtaken during the Safety Car period. The penalty dropped him from eleventh to 26th position.

TCR Euro Series
28a Hills Road
Cambridge CB2 1LA, United Kingdom

TCR Euro Series:

Press Officer: