Girolami goes fastest in rain-hit second Free Practice session

Girolami goes fastest in rain-hit second Free Practice session

The PSS Racing Honda Civic Type-R of Franco Girolami set the fastest time in the second Free Practice session at Zandvoort, but the session was effectively cut in half by a dramatic change in the weather. After setting the fastest time in FP1, Tom Coronel had to settle for P2 this time, with Jack Young third fastest in one of the Brutal Fish Racing Honda cars.


Just as in the earlier Practice session, the first driver to set a competitive time was Mat’o Homola in a Hyundai i30 N run by Janik Motorsport, with a lap time of 1:46.510. Nicolas Baert was second fastest at that point with a lap of 1:46.605 in a Comtoyou Audi RS 3 LMS, although those times were quickly beaten.


First, Jack Young went fastest with a 1:45.520 with Dušan Borkovič setting a time of 1:45.897, but both Coronel (1:45.500) and Girolami (1:45.478) took it in turns to top the timesheet. On his next lap, Girolami improved his time with a 1:45.325 but the weather was about to play a decisive part in proceedings.


With around eighteen minutes of the scheduled thirty minutes remaining, rain began to fall and so cars began to head for the pits to change to wet tyres. When they emerged, lap times were around ten seconds or so slower than the dry times, but the rain was steadily getting heavier. Girolami, Coronel, Young, Borkovič and Homola occupied the top five places with Niels Langeveld (1:46.192), Klim Gavrilov (1:46.232), Nicolas Baert (1:46.457), Isidro Callejas (1:46.488) and Viktor Davidovski (1:46.598) completing the top ten.


The session was ultimately red-flagged with just over three minutes remaining due to the worsening track conditions.


Top positions

1.     Franco Girolami (PSS Racing Team, Honda Civic Type-R)   1:45.325

2.     Tom Coronel (Comtoyou Racing, Audi RS 3 LMS)    1:45.500

3.     Jack Young (Brutal Fish Racing, Honda Civic Type-R)   1:45.520

4.     Dušan Borkovič (Comtoyou Racing, Audi RS 3 LMS)    1:45.897

5.     Mat’o Homola (Janik Motorsport, Hyundai i30 N)   1:46.152


Qualifying is scheduled to start at 11.00 CEST tomorrow, with Race 1 at 17.20. Live timing will be available via the TCR Portal and both races will be streamed live on the TCR Europe social media channels.

TCR Euro Series
28a Hills Road
Cambridge CB2 1LA, United Kingdom

TCR Euro Series:,

Mark James, Press Officer: tel. +44 7973 751660,